Oliver Koletzki, Niko Schwin, & more feature on 'Na Lagoa (Remixes)' | Soundspace

Oliver Koletzki, Niko Schwin, & more feature on ‘Na Lagoa (Remixes)’

The Magic Movement is a record label owned by Noema and the imprint’s latest release is an eight-track remix album featuring the likes of Oliver Koletzki, Niko Schwind, Dengue Dengue Dengue, Mira, and Christopher Schwarzwalder.

All of the remixes are new versions of tracks taken from Xique-Xique’s album ‘Na Lagoa’ which was released on The Magic Movement back in 2021.

‘Na Lagoa’ is predominantly a downtempo album and the remixes are mainly of mid to slow tempos, but the Oliver Koletzki rework is a little faster than the rest. If the remix album had to be given a single genre, then organic house or downtempo would be the best fit, but it’s got quite a few cuts that cross the genre lines.

Dengue Dengue Dengue have a distinctive afro beat to their remix, and Niko Schwind’s remix has a suspenseful intro that’s full of cosmic-esque sounds.

The organic house remixes all add their own flavour, with Nutia’s orientating around a charming synth melody and others like the Psilosamples remix are a lot more percussion focused. Mira and Christopher Schwarzwalder collaborate on their remix and that’s got a progressive synth which fills the track with warmth, while the flowing percussion provides a danceable energy.

Xique-Xique – Na Lagoa (Remixes) EP is out now on The Magic Movement

40 Questions: Ramon Tapia